Comp-U-Train can upgrade your Windows 7/8/8.1 computer to Windows 10!    Announcing our new Internet Banking and E-Commerce training package!

Phishing emails to get your account details

We’ve been receiving quite a few emails recently containing dire messages, warning us that our email or bank accounts will be cancelled unless we click on a link and verify the account.

When the link is clicked, the user is taken to a webpage that looks exactly like the legitimate login page of your email or bank.

This type of ruse where you are sent an email or message with a link is called “Phishing“.

Once the crooks have access to your account information, they can conduct all types of nefarious activities.

A recent variation of this type of activity is an email,  warning that your Skype account is about to expire and to click on a link to install a new version of Skype. This ends up installing a nefarious programme that contains a keylogging malware or remote viewing software, that allows crooks to spy on you from afar.

Please understand that you will NEVER be contacted telling you that your account will be cancelled. The best advice that we can give is to ignore and delete these Phishing emails. If you can, contact the company that the crooks are purporting to be and report the incident to their fraud division.

 

 

Comments are closed.

Comp-U-Train can upgrade your Windows 7/8/8.1 computer to Windows 10!    Announcing our new Internet Banking and E-Commerce training package!